Trinity Examination Course (GESE)

The Graded Examinations in Spoken English test candidates’ ability in listening and speaking. They are one-to-one oral examinations with a native English-speaking Trinity examiner.

There are 12 grades altogether which are linked to the Common European Framework of Reference (CEFR). The exams encourage students to develop and progress by acknowledging each step forward; at every stage of the student’s development there is a chance to mark success.

There are four stages with three grades at each stage:

  • Initial (Grades 1-3)
  • Elementary (Grades 4-6)
  • Intermediate (Grades 7-9)
  • Advanced (Grades 10-12)


The course consists of 1 lesson per day for 6 weeks and should be taken in conjunction with a general English course. Please contact the school for course dates here.


Universities and employers increasingly demand evidence of spoken English skills


TRINITY: Integrated Skills in English (ISE)

< Integrated Skills in English (ISE) is a four skills qualification which assesses students’ ability to interact in English in an authentic and meaningful way through the use of integrated reading, writing, speaking and listening tasks. Preparing for ISE builds real-life English skills and transferable skills required for academic study and employability.
ISE is available at five levels from A2 to C2 on the Common European Framework (CEFR), so there is a level for every learner.